What “HARDCORE” means to you? and how it affects your live?

We asked a few people about “what hardcore means to you? and how it affects your live?” here are some of the answer:

Juan Dorre (West Side Hoodz, Bandung Indonesia)

“Hardcore is about how to live our life’s, dare to fight, survive and strong like a real man” it affects? just follow the positive ways, keep this in mind that perhaps not all the system in Hardcore is perfect, cause in live i try to do what’s right according to me and maybe that’s not part of the Hardcore lives’s.”

Reza Gampang (Dead Pits, Jakarta Indonesia)

“Hardcore means positive message, SXE, Friendship, Duktek100x… it effects on how you choose your life the way you want it”

Razly R (Hurricane Noise, Tampin Malaysia )

“Hardcore is my teacher, my passion, my lover and it let me living my life my own way. Make me respect people  from different background. make me question everythings and be part of my life when im alone”

TJ. Raines (Bad Terms, Straight Edge, West Virginia)

“Hardcore means everything to me. If it weren’t for hardcore, I’m not sure where I would even be at this point in my life. Anyone who takes it for granted or are in it as a trend really bum me out. I found straight edge through Hardcore and it legitimately saved my life.”

Luis Rivas (Straight Edge, Skinhead, LA California)

“I love Hardcore, but Early Hardcore Punk. Cause they had that angst and alienation, feeling like u don’t belong anywhere. Today’s Hardcore is too long for me, and way to metal for my taste. Hardcore made me discover what I am, and I am sure tons in the Hardcore scene wouldn’t accept me in today’s hardcore. To be honest, for me Hardcore is fun, and great friends. That’s about it. Cause then I discovered Oi! 🙂 When I talk about Hardcore, I am referring to bands like Circle Jerks, The Germs, X, Big Boy, MDC, and etc. ever seen American Hardcore?  That’s my type of hardcore”

Phopi Ratna Agustin (Lose It All, Bandung Indonesia)

“I think Hardcore is a necessity and motivation in my life where I’ve to always try and survive for life. Hardcore is very meaningful to me, not just a genre of music, but hardcore is comprehension, depends on each person how to understand themselves as hardcore. One more “I feel Hardcore has many positive side, Hardcore is a attitude, where we could bring ourselves with comprehension that we have and the music we play :D”

James Drescher “Jimmy Gestapo” (Murphy’s Law, NYHC)

“Hardcore is a state of mind choosing to go against the grain and live your life for yourself,  it doesn’t affect my life it is my life and has been for well over 30 years, I am Hardcore”

Mikael Providence (Providence, Paris France)

“For me, Hardcore is a way of life, a worldwide community, in the aspect how has affected me, Hardcore took me to parts of the world i would never imagine i would go some day and got me new friends and made me the person i am today.”

Rob Zero Faction (Faction Zero, Brooklyn New York)

“Hardcore is reality..life on lifes terms…streets…blue collar… being what u believe In, Family .. real Hardcore is not bout cliques ..its about unity and friendships”

Anugrah Esa (Doombringer Records, Jakarta Indonesia)

“Hardcore means to live by your own standard, deconstruct so called public morality, playing hard, living hard, while enjoying each moment of your live. In terms of music, Hardcore means playing your own music even though no one enjoying it, even though you’re only playing in front of one people. Never care about what others saying about your music. Hardcore also means taking it one step forward than the usual punk sound. Making it extreme. Musically and attitude. Make your own music, make your own record, create your own gigs, make your own zine, etc and like i said before, you just do it entirely for your own, Hardcore punks bro! and how it affects your live? It changed my whole life. My perspective on things. I can meet some strangers and talk about anything like an old friend just because we share a same taste of music, I can go anywhere, meet new punks/hardcore people and still feels like I’m in home, I can make my own music, make my own band, self-release my own records, and share knowledge to others merely because sharing knowledge is one of the Hardcore thing to do. I can also think for myself, learning new perspective, knowing that public morality is shit, all normality is just a way to make people obey all kind of dogmatic shit, knowing that government is still absolutely piece of shit, all big corporations are meant to suck people’s live and I believe living a life based on what I learn from hardcore is like living an alternative way in this cruel world.”

Pelbu Rucktion (Knuckledust, Rucktion Records, London UK)

“Hardcore to me is a label given to another honest form of expression. One who’s core incorporates words, sound and action, which in turn gives me good memories, good friends, and a good release so i can continue to try keep focus for all my family and me.”

Lou Luda Nyhc (GFY, New York)

“What is hardcore to me well let’s see ???? It’s music it’s a as real as any music gets .. It is also my family and my life after being in a few bands and playing shows and being one of the vocalists for Gfy I got to meet many people all over the world and have family I can always count on to be there if I need them.. Hardcore to me also means taking care of your own benefit shows for whatever brother it sister is in need or doing whatever u can when somebody down and out.. It has also been cool to share my beliefs and lyrics with the world and thru my message help others get they there day or whatever they are going thru .. It’s also about love the live of music to drive somewhere and spend more money then you make getting there it’s about putting our gear in and going money was never anything to us. It is also more then music it is a lifestyle it’s about loving living and representing you and your Hardcore family 24-7 and being proud to where the label hardcore it’s my style it’s my life I started going to shows in 89 and since then nothing will ever come between me and a good show it’s carved in my heart ny tattoos and my soul New York Hardcore for life”

Raven Zakarias (Final Question, Cibinong Indonesia)

“Hardcore very special for me . because hardcore give me everything . passion of life , fun and friendship”

Djamel Providence (Providence, Paris France)

“Yes. Hardcore means more than music. For sure it begins with punk music and after with metal music but it’s a way of life. A exchange between different kids in different countries. It’s not about rock stars stuff. It’s real! You could be a musician, a booker, work in a label, webzine etc… If you are true and if you’ve got the passion, everything is possible in the Hardcore scene. For me it’s a commitment. An another way in this capitalist society.”

Richard Miguel R (Lastblood Records, Manado Indonesia)

“Hardcore “The way of life” is more than music, a it’s your way of life, self control, resistance, attitude, friendship, pride, having fun, moshpit, stage dive, sing along, collectivism and movement came with music itself. it’s affect with decision making, spirit, independent, passion, attitude and life motivation”

Eileen Ayala (Waterbury CT, USA)

“Hc is everything, it took me all my years to become who I am today and it has lead me here. HC is home no matter where I go moved to Ct didn’t know anyone but the shows always feels like I’m surrounded by family. Same struggle same fight we’re together in this. Nowhere else I’d rather be.”

Zack Hoods (Los Babas Worldwide, Lahti Finland)

“Hardcore is all about speaking up and raising awareness about issues that affect people in everyday life, shouting about our poorly paid jobs, struggling to keep a roof over our heads etc etc!. When a band shouts about these kinds of issues and really identify with the lyrics then that makes the music pure!. When it’s sung from the heart, it really makes you feel that your not alone in this messed up world!. As for how it affects me?, I guess it’s affected me by making me think about life in different ways and seeing it through other people’s views!. Hearing what people have to say whether we choose to admit it or not affects people!.”

Evan Sodman (Orange County, California)

“Hardcore has never been just a music genre to me. It’s not a movement, it’s not a cult, it’s not a system. It’s an expression of freedom and unity between all people of all ages. It brings me happiness, passion, and hope that if we stand together we can change this world. People can hate us but I’ve learned to love the world that hates you back. Hardcore lives!”

Gregg and Kid Lynch (SFA NYHC Punk, New York)

“Hardcore for us is not just about music. For us It’s a lifestyle and NYHC4Life is the code we live by. In the early 80’s I went to my first Hardcore matanee at CBGB’s with Jesse from Yuppicide (beford Yuppicide formed). The moment we walked inside I knew I had found a new home. Today we still have the same beliefs that we shared as young punks and hardcore kids. We believe in integrity and honor. Say what you mean & mean what you say! That’s why We try to do what we can to keep that spirit alive.  One of the ways is by supporting new & old bands on our Twitter and Facebook pages. Thanks to everyone that has supported SFA over the years.”

Richie Mancuso (Wisdom In Chains, Stroudsburg Pennsylvania)

“Well, that’s a really hard question. To me personally, I look at Hardcore as kind of a house, a house with doors open and family everywhere. We try and take care of our homes, upgrade them, make them comfortable, but also protect them. So in other words, Hardcore is very important to me, and in my own way I feel responsible for it.”

Josh Obc Hulse  (One Blood Crew, North Alabama USA)

“Hardcore has and will forever be my life blood. It was a place to escape from the mundane. It was a place of acceptance and a place of expression. I was never part of the norm deemed by society. I was an adopted kid that was a constant black sheep of his family. My first introduction into “heavy” music was when I was 10. My cousin gave me his punk/metal bands tape. Not soon after my adopted mother threw it out. From that point on I was stuck on punk/hardcore/metal. I’m 28 now and have been part of this “scene” for 18 years. I couldn’t imagine my life being any other way. It’s a lifestyle choice for me. It’s not a trend, a phase or even an extracurricular activity. I’ve embraced the outcast stereotype forced upon me by the world I live in. Hardcore taught me things my family, schools and society never did. I live by my own guidelines. Rectitude, Courage, Benevolence, Politeness, Honesty, Veracity, Honor, Loyalty, Integrity, Equality, Diversity and Respect. I have a code of ethics formulated through being part of this subculture. I have rules and parameters now that govern my life. My moral values are things instilled in me by the wisdom of the older men before me. I’m a lifer and I’m in this til I’m dead. I’m not going to turn my back on something that taught me the true meaning of family and brotherhood. I can honestly say that without hardcore I would probably not be here today. It gave me a home. It gave me an outlet to channel my anger, rage and frustration. It allowed me to release pent up aggression in controlled chaos. It will forever be part of who I am and reflected in everything that I am about. Hardcore is my life.”

Engga Gobel (Polahi, Gorontalo Indonesia)

“Hardcore is love and motivation in real life. (family, friendship, soul power)”

Somkane Naksut (Born From Pain, Thailand)

“Hardcore is everything for me I live with it do it and spend 15 year of my life with it. We start a band 1998 we got inspired by Earth Crisis. We took the name of EC song name Born From Pain back in 1998, not much band in Thailand do Hc band, not much show happens but for us we really lucky in 2000 a Hardcore band name Die young came in Bangkok share a stage with us in Songklan water fest and they influence us to do really serious with this scene. Sometime when you life getting down one thing i still keep thinking a lot of good friends and good life i cant live my life without it, Hc is in my blood”

Mike Dijan (Sai Nam, Astoria New York)

“Hardcore to me means: Freedom of expression in every aspect of your life. Having the courage to be different, not caring what society in general thinks of it. Being there for your loved ones when they need you, and smashing your enemies if you have to..From playing the music I love, to meeting great people from all over the world, to discovering spirituality and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Having the streets teach me things about life no school ever could. Having close friends to help me see it through. I owe it all to Hardcore.”

Rene Smit (Lies!, Groningen The Netherlands)

“Hardcore for me is initially hard-hitting music. I love the energy. Words rebelling against things you do not like, being positive to the things you think is right. It’s an outlet to me. Going to shows with friends, playing in bands, setting up shows, spreading the music and the message. I think the best part of this culture is the DIY mentality. Being supportive, doing it yourself, take and give back, making mistakes and keep going forever. I am an entrepreneur since my 18th and this mentality has developed me in many ways. Now I may be the money making sell-out I still play in bands and give back more then I ever did. I agree Richie Wisdom in Chains’ words. After so many years, Hardcore is still very important to me, and in my own way I still feel responsible for it.”

Michael Scondotto (The Last Stand, Brooklyn New York) 

“Hardcore has been the last 25 years of my life. I found Hardcore in 1988 and never left. It affects my life as it is a huge part of my life.”

http://twitter.com/FTARZine

6 thoughts on “What “HARDCORE” means to you? and how it affects your live?

  1. “Hardcore is the Way We Live and Real Respect each others, simple Do it and Prove it”

  2. “Hardcore is my fucking way of live, struggle, still Resistance, survive, do it your self, be your fucking self, not follower, do right what you do”

  3. I first entered the Hardcore scene in the mid 90’s. At that time, there were not an abundance of subgenres. It was either old school (more punk rock sounding), new school (more of a metal influence) and emo became a little more prominent as time went on. Either way, everyone had each other’s backs.

    I am still hardcore today; in my passion, my ethics, my motivation and my willingness to stand up for myself, my friends, my family and innocent people around me.

    The thing that concerns me is that everyone seems more concerned about the specific sub-genre of hardcore that they prefer. Forgetting that hardcore is about unity, not a specific trend or sound. I don’t go to as many shows and stuff that I used to but from what I can tell, there is a lot more talking and a lot less doing.

    I remember fighting Nazi Skinheads and bully dickheads until they quit coming around. I do not recall ever targeting other hardcore kids or making them feel unwanted.

    I hope that this is still unacceptable behavior and that the hardcore scene is not a watered down cesspool like the rest of the world.

    What hardcore means to me: Doing what is right regardless of the law, Standing up for yourself, Protecting those around you, Fucking up Bullies, Going to shows to have fun with everyone and not picking fights with them, throwing down some windmills and spin kicks on the dance floor, Respecting others, Driving a positive message and living by strong ethics and a passion for moving FORWARD.

    FYI: The hardcore I have always preferred the most, is what is now referred to as Beatdown or Tough Guy hardcore. Same shit I have always listened to, just has a different name these days. I listen to a variety of bands though.

    In the end….”To Die Today with You, Would be Such an Honor” -Black My Heart-

Leave a comment